The Thin Green Skin On Which We Walk

We walked out this morning as part of the Wotton Walking Festival, on an eight miles or so jaunt around our village in the company of a geologist. It was a fascinating new look at some familiar landscape and we found a few new walks to explore later too!

We generally view our landscape in a very two dimensional way, generally looking at what's at our level. Geologist Dave explained in clear and detailed fashion - with maps! - just how interesting our bit of the world is - something I'd come across in planning research and mineral plans, but which he moved from the written world into 'here, look at this rock I've just smashed with my hammer"!

I have a small collection of rocks and pebbles on my shelf here as I type, which I've met and befriended over the decades because they caught my eye or called out as I passed. I think I'm going to be adding to them with very local and geologically interesting new fellows.

Anyhow, this is a view across the newest part of the quarry behind the village. We're probably not supposed to be here, but if you don't tell I won't either. To get some scale, if you look to the far end you may be (go Large) a huge earth mover dwarfed by the sloping face of the limestone deposit.

My feet ache!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.