St Mungo's Mural

It was a lovely morning in Glasgow, mostly sunny too.  Arrived in Gran Canaria this evening, lovely and warm here.  

Up early, and headed out to do a bit more shopping.  I also had a walk around Glasgow too.  I said my goodbyes to my nieces last night, so we headed to the airport at lunchtime.  A long flight, and painful.  A young mam shouted at her bairn all the way for 4 ½ hours!  We arrived at the hotel in Playa del Ingles by 9.30pm.  A few well deserved pints in the hotel, and may head out later.  Last time I was here was December 2011.  

One of my walks this morning took me past many murals, and a few done by Australian artist, Sam Bates aka Smug.  It took a week to paint, back in 2016, and is of St Mungo, Glasgow's patron saint, born in the 6th century.  He apparently helped a small robin after it fell, some boys had been throwing stones at them as they pecked for bread.  He revived the bird.  I've wanted to see this mural for a long time now, and love it.  Taken on High Street, Glasgow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.