Pig Dyke Molly Perform

... I spent a lovely morning at Holmfirth Folk Festival yesterday from which I chose twenty images of this group for my Flickr site.  They’re from Peterborough and the Fens, so not a local group - I thought they were wonderful.  The camera club had promoted the event as one of its outings and this is the first year I’ve been as we’ve usually been on holiday on this weekend.  I’ve always been put off Holmfirth events as the parking situation in Holmfirth is awful on a quiet weekday.  This time I decided to explore whether there was a bus option and discovered that the Chapeltown to Holmfirth bus passes the top of our road, so I caught it.  It takes the long route around to Holmfirth, so you need an hour to spare, but it was the most stunning bus journey I’ve taken for some time as it takes the high moor route around Dunford Bridge and the reservoirs.    If you are ever in our part of Yorkshire it’s worth a trip on a good day.  I think Yorkshire Tourism should promote it.  It’s the Number 29 if you’d like to find out more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.