Amaryllis Defunctorum

The dead blooms of the amaryllis have been hanging around in the conservatory for ages. They've fascinated William. They've even had seed pods. I don't know if the seeds would ever germinate.

Today seemed a good idea for the photo I've had in mind. First, I used my Fuji camera with far too wide an aperture, so I repeated the shot with my Canon on a tripod using a narrow aperture. The image should meet the requirement of flower photography, that photos should be sharp from front to back. Let me know if you spot any softness.

I did my regulation hour in the gym enjoying Rick Stein sampling the cuisine of Croatia. Croatia looks alright. Wouldn't mind going there. Then, over the road to Queens Park for a gluten free sarnie in the cafe where the second half of the camera club's pics are on display until the end of May.

And finally home on what was turning out to be an extremely pleasant day. Basil very indignant at being left home alone, as Len had gone off to watch Leicester City vs Chelsea. I decided we should go somewhere nice, so we headed off to Whatton Gardens. A profusion of wild garlic. See extra.

The gardens will be open for the National Garden Scheme next Sunday if you want to visit. There won't be tea and very nice cake because they're working on a coffee shop due to open next year, and the gardens will be open every day from 0930 to 1630. Wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.