flavia13

By flavia13

BATSFORD

We have arrived safely at our Premier Inn in Witney, Oxfordshire.

Journey down was good, sunshine all the way.  We stopped off at the Norton Canes service station on the M6 Toll Road first and then once we had arrived in Cotswolds area we went to Batsford, a small hamlet just outside Morton-in-Marsh.  |t has a lovely garden centre with a good restaurant.  It also has an arboretum and a falconry centre but as we plan to visit a much larger arboretum in a couple of days time we gave that amiss.

The garden centre was lovely and the food good, I had sea bream and Hubby had roast lamb, all served with fresh seasonal vegetables and new potatoes for me, Roast potatoes for Hubby.  Only downside was, because it was self service by the time Hubby had  queued to pay for it and got it our table it was only warm.  I'm afraid self service places for hot food is one of my pet peeves, but that's just me.  At least the food was good.

I enjoyed looking round the garden centre, Hubby managed to get some seeds he wanted and I just enjoyed looking at all the lovely maples, alpines and flowers.  The extra is an flower I'd not seen before but thought it was lovely.  I forgot to get its name so if someone knows I would be grateful if you could tell me.

The main photo is of the field opposite the car park for the garden centre and the beautiful blossom in amongst all the dandelion clocks just made my heart sing, it looked so beautiful in the sunshine.

We arrived at the Premier Inn, and although checking in took a little while, just due to the fact that the Receptionist couldn't find the booking for the people in front of me.  No matter.

Our room is typical Premier Inn really, pleasant enough with very comfortable beds.  The view is very nice looks out onto a large open field with a beautiful tree just a few feet from our window.  I've had worse views at Premier Inns I have to say.  Apparently the field is used once a year for a music festival, thank goodness not whilst we are here.  It belongs to a local school.

We had a walk into Witney itself, about a 15 minute walk way.  It's larger than I thought, about the size of Kendal, but it is has at least 7 bank and building societies, all still open!!!!  Grange can't even manage one - wonder if we can bring one back with us.

:Now to watching The Durrells, final episode.    

Tomorrow is going to be an emotional day, paying my respects to my wonderful late uncle, who passed recently and I couldn't attend the funeral due to Hubby having flu at the time (Hubby is never ill so it was a huge shame), just one of those things though.#

Night night, all with see you all tomorrow.  Will try and catch up on all your posts later.  

UPDATE:  I forgot to put the extra.  Hope someone still sees this and can tell me what this is???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.