LEVENS ESTUARY

#Day 60 of personal lockdown


We've now been told that we can drive to exercise, no matter what distance!!!!!  I do not agree with that at all but the car did need to have a run out to keep the battery ticking over, so I thought about and decided we could do a very local drive, only 12 minutes each so G and I went to Old Park Down on the Leven Estuary, just for a total of an hour from leaving home and getting back.  This is part of the Holker estate and the address says it is in Cark, Grange-over-Sands, so still within my area.

Before  the car park there is a farm and a bit further on a caravan park, which is currently closed of course.  To be fair though, even in the summer when the caravan park is well used you don't see that many people on the estuary - so it's a lovely peaceful place and a nature reserve.

There was a bit of traffic going into Allithwaite and Flookburgh, mostly people getting their supplies I think.  After that no-one at all.  I did feel very nervous but this is the furthest I will be going for sometime to come.  If I can drive somewhere in about 15 minutes and encounter few people I may go out once a week but that will be my limit for the rest of this year I'm afraid.  So it still has to be very local to me.

We only met two people and stayed well away from them.  It has a small car park, but enough space if not too many people go.  There was only one other car there and as we left the car to walk up to the estuary an old lady came in to park her car and although she could have parked over the other side she decided to park right next to us!!!!  I'm guessing it's her usual slot.  

Anway we walked along the estuary, took a few photos and generally "listened" to the peace and quiet and bird song.  The pathway had some ice on it, could have been a hailstorm but some of it was just ice and it was bitterly cold.  Glad we had our winter clothes and coats back on.

I practiced with the new camera.  Just practicing today with changing the aperture so took several shots of the same scene under different apertures, just to see the difference.

The light was very changeable, one minute there was very blue sky and cloud making the scene have a bluish tinge, the next it was dark rainy clouds and quite breezy.

It was nice to go somewhere else for a walk, even if it was only a short while.  G can't walk far anyway, so has to have his stick to lean on.  I've spotted quite a few other walkways there where maybe in a week or so's time I can persuade  hubby to leave his garden and lottery and explore.  But although we've been told this has been allowed I feel guilty for driving out!!!  As I said I will only go if I can get there within about 15 minutes.  Oh until I'm told I can visit my Mum of course, but then it will be straight to her house and back again - not calling anywhere inbetween times.

Now if I have my geography correct, the mountains in the background are, of course, of the Lake District and I think include the Old Man of Coniston.  

Hope you are all staying safe and keeping warm now. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.