flavia13

By flavia13

NOT MARKS AND SPENCERS

This is the interior of St Michaels (hence the M&S reference Church in Lambourn, Berkshire.  I was a bridesmaid here when I was about 5 or 6 years old.  This church has seen many christenings, marriages and, very sadly, funerals of my paternal family.

Lambourn is known as the main large village in the valley of the racehorse.  Many Grand National winners and jockeys have come from here.  In fact my grandfather used to be a stable lad to "Shrimp" Macnee, Patrick Macnee's father!!!  (If you don't know Patrick Macnee was famous for being in The Avengers, a 1960s TV series and one of my heroes.

Due to the large trees in the chuchyard I was unable to get a decent photo outside and I had to rush this as I was advised that a funeral cortage would be arriving in about 30 minutes.

Very very emotional day for me today.  Silly really but it's something I needed to do.  Visited old haunts, had lunch in my Dad's old pub.  Visited my Uncles house just before it gets put on the market.  Had a great chat with my cousin.

Whilst I was up at the cemetary and lady came up to me asking if I was looking for something in particular.  I explained to her and it turns out she has lived there for over 50 years and knew both my father and my uncle!!

Going to walk into Witney town tonight for a meal and a much needed drink (I rarely drink these days, but something you just need to have one!!!).

Sorry if I'm a bit behind in catching up with your blips but it is difficult when you're away from home and especially today.

See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.