flavia13

By flavia13

WESTONBIRT ARBORETUM

Lovely lovely day today.  Sun was shining, a cool breeze blowing most of the day (perfect for me).

We arrived at Westonbirt about 10:00 am and then spent at least 3 to 4 hours walking around beautiful scenery of various trees plus fields of bluebells, cowslips, wild garlic and other plants.  

We walked the walkway in the sky to get eye to eye contact with the higher branches of the trees.  The on through woodlands, a acer glade, a cherry glade, bluebell woods and so one.  Had a sandwich lunch.  Then took the walk through the old arboretum to Lime Avenue, which is the photo I have selected to use but there are a couple of extras as well.  Ibe of the extras is of a redwood, californian I think but I can't remember.  I love shooting from the bottom to the top of trees and this beautiful bark really caught my eye.  Hope you like it.

So much beautiful bird song I only recognise the more common ones, could have done with Gladders with us he would have known them all.

I've  only so far processed a few of the photos as I'm afraid my "clicky finger" was working overtime today and I came back with about 250 photos.  A lot of which I won't keep.  I was going to enter these for wide Wednesday, then just realised it's actually Tuesday today!!!  So I'll enter for Tiny Tuesday as there are lots of tiny leaves!!!!  Also the theme is "vegetable" well trees are green and red etc so they must be vegetable mustn't they!!!

For those that don't know Westonbirt National Arboretum is an arboretum in Gloucestershire, England, about 3 miles southwest of the town of Tetbury. It is managed by Forestry England, and is perhaps the most important and widely known arboretum in the United Kingdom!!!!

Here's a link for anyone interested who may not have hear of   Westonbirt

I was practicing using my wide angle lens so hope you think they've come out all right.  I don't use it very often and am out of my comfort zone with it really, but it's good to do that sometimes.

We're so tired, now that we're just going to make do with pizza from the restaurant here.  Premier Inn have a series of restaurants called Thyme, which are usually OK, not haute cuisine but OK.  Sadly this week they only have half a menu on as they're changing over on Thursday (they very day we leave) to a brand new so don't have enough stock for everything left!!!  However we're too tired to walk  into town tonight. 

Mind you the eyes are somewhat itchy because around here are masses of rapeseed plant fields, too many of them really.  They're very pretty but not when there are just field after field of them.

Bibury and Cotswolds tomorrow.  Not sure where as there are surprising a lot of tourists about, although Westonbirt wasn't too bad.

Hope you've all had a great day.  See you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.