Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Helping Adam

We left home early to go to Cambridge so that we could have a full day there, helping Adam settle some of his stuff into his new accommodation. It was a beautiful sunny day  but we were inside all day and had no time for a break to wander around Cambridge, which was a pity - hence no photos taken.

Thank goodness Luke was home this weekend as his help was very much needed and  appreciated. Adam had a delivery from IKEA on Friday so while the boys got stuck into assembling the furniture, I started in the kitchen unpacking all the kitchenware that I had brought from home. Some items took ages to assemble, like Adam’s bed which has storage drawers underneath it, those drawers are quite finicky and you really do have to follow the instructions. Adam could not have done it all by himself, and having the extra strength of Luke to help move heavy boxes up stairs was a great help.

We were all grateful that I had brought lunch as all of a sudden everyone got really hungry. After lunch Gavin loaded up the car with all the cardboard packaging, and I went to the waste disposal site to dump it. It was at the opposite end of the city so it took me some time to get there and then took me ages to unpack all the cardboard and carry it across to the skip, but it was a very necessary job as we could not move in his flat for all the cardboard! 

Thomas was at home today studying as his final exams start very soon. I had his timetable wrong, he starts in a week's time so it is head down and that final push before the exams start.


I took this photo of Luke and Adam after they had finished assembling this table, as I had not taken any photos all day. It has been a very long day and we only got home at about 10pm, so I won't have time to look at journals tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.