Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Out to Graze

Our full first day, not what we were expecting weather wise, cool and breezy (and it got a lot windier as the day went on).

The riders headed down to the arena for familiarisation with their horses and the style of riding they would be using this week. Even for someone like me, who has no pretentions to horsemanship, I could tell that ‘western’ style was a completely different technique to that typically taught in the UK. Everyone took to the new style with aplomb and they soon headed out onto a local trail before lunch.

I explored the local area later. It is much more wooded than I was expecting from photographs I’ve seen of Tuscany. Trying to get the vistas I was expecting will be more challenging. We are 80 or so miles north of Val d’Orcia and those iconic views.

We met up for dinner as rain started to fall. Were expecting another day of this type of weather then, hopefully the conditions will be more benign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.