Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Manhattan of Tuscany

We still have the effects of a storm in the area, strong winds, cold and some rain. Today was L first full day ride, while I’d arranged to meet up with friends I’d met on a photographic holiday to the USA.

So after breakfast we split and I headed for San Gimignano, a beautiful medieval walled city, known as the Manhattan of Tuscany because of the number of towers within it’s walls. I met up with Neil and Hazel and we spent the day pottering around the town, climbing one of the towers and people watching. There was even an exhibition of Helmut Newton prints in one of the museums (gosh, he liked his exposed single breast!).

I then brought Hazel and Neil back to our resort to meet L and join us for an evening meal, before taking them back to their hotel at the end of the night. All in all a long and very enjoyable day.

Frustratingly, the internet connection at our resort is a little flaky so my contributions may be a little intermittent. Apologies, it’s taken two days to successfully upload this image.. I’m also experimenting with just using the iPad to process images and while Lightroom CC is a very accomplished app, it is a learning curve at the moment and for ease I’m also using Snapseed so I don’t have to spend too long in front of the device.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.