Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Meet Amineko

a crocheted cat
now my friend forevermore
gifted by béné

Bénédicte and I were talking about the techniques she's been using to make her Waldorf-style dolls, and about the different dolls she's made over the past few years. I pointed to what I thought, at first, was a teddy bear. She said "no, it's a cat, it's called an Amineko". Aminekos are among the favourite types of amigurumis. And what is an amigurumi, you'll ask (or not, maybe you're not interested). Why, it's a crocheted stuffed toy. And Amineko actually means "crocheted cat". She saw I really liked it and said "take it, it's yours, we always thought we'd give it to a child, but I'm happy he's found a loving home". :-)

Amineko is his last name, I think. There are lots of Aminekos. I should give it a first name. I have a few ideas, but I'd be curious to see what you could come up with. Don't be shy, and don't limit yourselves to male names because it's grey/blue, either, it could be a girl!

I can feel a lot of "So-and-so Amineko at the beach, in the fields, in the kitchen, in Paris" etc. blips coming over time... :-D Should be fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.