Gold

Uncharacteristically for me, today's blip is a candid shot of strangers.  I snatched this quick pic of the family at the next table as Caitlin and I were having dinner at Midpoint. I must be getting old, or something, because I was entranced by how very much this little boy was enjoying his ice cream, and generally how very well behaved he and his little brother were throughout their meal, both as good as gold.

Prior to eating, Caitlin and I had engaged in some shopping that included, for me, a new denim jacket. So, I might be getting old enough to be absorbed by little children, but I can still be trendy. The two, apparently, are not mutually exclusive. Good to know.

Highlight of the day however has to be my morning class when a Senior made his presentation, the chosen topic being the music of Claude Debussy.  Specifically, it was about how Debussy used the whole tone scale, about dissonance and harmonic resolution, with demonstrations at the piano, and relevant excerpts from L'apres midi d'un faune, presented in a confident, competent and convincing delivery.  It was more like an undergraduate seminar than a High School lesson, other students were attentive and focussed, listening with understanding,  and involved in the discussion whilst I was totally blown away and another memorable moment was recorded in my mental scrap book called "why I love my job".  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.