Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Nemesis

Our cats are strictly indoor cats, for many reasons.  One of the reasons is that, no matter how well-fed a cat may be, it's instinct is still to hunt.  And since I have a bird-friendly yard, hunting cats pose a real danger.  So, it irks me that there are a several cats that hang out around our yard, looking for birds and chipmunks.  Usually, I go scare them away when I see them outside.  Today, I decided to take a shot of this one first - it is a beautiful cat, although if you look closely you'll see that he has the scars of fights on his face.  I suspect he's a stray that someone dropped here.  Charlie hates him - he is "the nemesis" and gets the sharp end of Charlie's glares when he shows himself around the patio.  Of course, Charlie's tough talk is all done through the closed window.  

I had a consult today with a cardiologist to follow up on recent blood work and calcium test.  Bad news is that there is evidence of blockage in my arteries - good news is that I'm now in the queue for a whole battery of tests to determine how serious the blockage and whether any action is required.  In the meantime, it's baby aspirin and a cholestrol medication for me, starting pronto.  Brain tumor notwithstanding, I've been pretty healthy my whole life, so this feels a bit irritating to me.  But, lucky me to be living in a time when there are so many treatments available.  

The rain has finally stopped and the weather is delightful.  I'm planning to enjoy it as much as possible over the next few days.

Day 3 at the gym today - cardio again.  Weights tomorrow.

Over and out...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.