Kwtracey

By Kwtracey

St. Ignatius Church

This evening I wanted to take a blip of St. Ignatius Church. It is the oldest continuous active Catholic church in the United States. 
The pastor is a passionate historian and is an expert on our local history, a history that he loves to share. As I was taking photos of the building (the current church dates to 1798) from the cemetery in the front, Father came out. I thought I was in for a history lesson and was concerned for my patient husband who was waiting in the truck across the street. Instead, Father asked if I saw anyone in the tower. I was surprised by the unusual question as the bell tower is so high above the church. He explained that there seems to be a bee problem and that he was worried about the structural integrity of the steeple and contracted someone to investigate, but couldn't find him. At the time I didn't see anyone, but when I went to the parking lot, I saw Father and the contractor in the bell tower high above Chapel Point. 
I wish that I had been able to go up with them as the view of the river and across to Virginia must be incredible.
The extra is of St. Ignatius Church taken from the cemetery. I have an 18-300 zoom lens. At 18mm it does a nice wide angle. In this photo, though, the wide angle really distorts the grave markers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.