Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The path

After my busy week I am feeling tired now that it is Friday - I still am not sleeping properly which does not help. I did my usual grocery shopping this morning and then had a quick coffee with some friends.

I have already mentioned that today is Thomas' last day of school - he breaks up today for study leave, and after exams he will be going back for all the music rehearsals for the last day of school and its associated concerts, but no more lessons for him after 13 years of schooling (yup in the UK we have one more year of school than USA, Australia, South Africa and I am sure some other countries)

This afternoon it is the Leaver's Service which I am sure will be a bit emotional, and tears may be shed (by mothers, not the boys!) I believe Thomas is doing a reading so even more lump in the throat moments. Then drinks with the headmaster before having a dinner with the parents and boys and the house master. Thomas is ready to move on to the next level, although at the same time is very sad to be leaving. His exams finish on the 24th June and then we have the long wait until mid August to get his results.

I thought this path leading into the distance was representative of the path into the future that he will be taking....I hope there won't be stormy clouds ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.