Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

At last, a haircut!

Today has actually been quite busy - I exercised this morning and then after breakfast Gavin and I went on a really long walk with Xena - 9km and nearly 2 hours long, from Princes Covert woods at the bottom of our road to Great Oaks near Claygate then on to Esher Common and finally through Oxshott Heath to get home again. It was rather busy today with many horses and riders out - I kept putting Xena on the lead every time a horse came by but eventually they were coming by so often I just left her running off her lead  and she ignored the horses which is good. 

When I got home it was haircut time for Luke! It ended up being a family affair - Gavin started off shaving and neatening up his neckline at the back, I then cut the rest of his head using scissors, then Adam came out and declared Gavin's neckline job to be too square so he started thinning the hair into a fade at the back, as can be seen here. I have added a before and after photo in extras! It ended up not looking too bad and Luke was very pleased with it as his longer hair was annoying him. I then wanted to cut Adam's hair which is looking quite unruly, but he prefers to wait for the barbers to open in July (in other words, I don't trust you cutting my hair, mum!) Thomas started growing his hair when he started university in October, he has decided to wear it long as it will be the only chance he can wear his hair like that as he says when he works one day he will be expected to look more conservative. As Gavin says, he can always apply for a role in the Passion Play with his current hairstyle now (it's pretty awful)

We had a delicious BBQ for lunch - Gavin made his speciality of chicken kebabs - it takes him ages to prepare them, threading the chicken and vegetables on to the skewers, but it is worth it as they are so tasty.

After lunch I set about taking photos for my camera group 'homework'. The challenge this month was to do some 'floating' or levitation images. I have been planning what to do for a while now so today with Gavin's help I took two different sets of photos for two different ideas. However when I loaded them on to my computer I decided I did not like them so had to start all over again - that took all afternoon! I have now done some that are okay, I may have another attempt next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.