Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Giving you the stink eye!

Not sure if that stink eye was directed at Xena or not! Or maybe this cow is fed up with being being kept in this field by the fencing with the barbed wire top...lockdown for cows!

This morning I met up with a friend for a socially distanced walk - she drove to the car park at our woods where we met and we had a lovely walk with Xena. It certainly is busier now than at the beginning of the lockdown. Xena, like many dogs, loves chewing sticks, Today she found a small stick on her walk and next thing I could see that it had got stuck vertically in her mouth and she could not get rid of it or close her mouth. I had to put my hand far down into her mouth to retrieve it, and as she was biting down hard on to the stick I got a bitten on my finger (not intentionally of course) but I managed to dislodge the stick. It was only a small bite, it bled a little but it is more bruised than anything else.

Unfortunately our local coffee shop is closed for take away on Mondays otherwise we could have enjoyed a coffee after our walk, and as I was unable to invite her to my house for coffee we parted ways after the walk.

Yesterday it was announced that if the clinical trials for the Oxford vaccine are successful we could have 30 million doses of the vaccine by September this year, as AstraZeneca have already finalised a licensing agreement with Oxford and the government. As the government has already invested £47 million in this Oxford vaccine and have committed to a further £84 million of new funding, our Business Secretary, Alok Sharma says this means the UK will have access to this vaccine first. I suppose that is fair enough, as it is indirectly being funded by UK taxpayers, although I imagine if this is how it works out there will be many who criticise this.

A beautiful warm and sunny day, even hotter tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.