Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A very early sunrise

I had a really bad night last night - Xena would not settle in her unfamiliar surroundings and was crying and whining, so twice I had to get up to reassure her that I was around and all was well (as she was sleeping in another room). Then I was too hot, too cold....we all know that routine....I watched the hours tick away and eventually at 4am I decided to stop trying to sleep and got up to go photograph the sunrise. Gavin came with me (he was fortunate to have an excellent night's sleepers usual!) I was on the beach by 4.20am and only left the beach at about 7am when we decided to drive further along the coast to check out the various seaside villages (taking advantage of the lack of traffic at that time).The sunrise was soft and pink and quite lovely, rather than the fiery orange fireworks that can happen.Needless to say that today I have been feeling totally washed out and lacking in energy after no sleep the night before. 

After breakfast Gavin had a work zoom meeting so I edited some photos while I waited for it to finish. Later we went back to the beach to walk Xena, and she had a great time with Luke and Meriel throwing her ball for her so she was sprinting up and down the sandy beach - see extra. Luke had got up early and got ahead of his work today, so he was able to take a few hours off.

The boys and their girlfriends played tennis while Gavin and I went for another drive along the coast, where we drove through Burnham Market, and stopped at Wells-next-the-sea for a light lunch and coffee. On the recommendation of Fotoday we went to the Wells Deli where we had an excellent coffee and were hoping for a crab sandwich but they had just run out of crab! (although impressively they had gluten free bread for me). Its a popular tourist village but a little too busy for me. We are really enjoying Brancaster with its beautiful beach and greta walks, and of course the main attraction for the boys is the top golf course here. We are finding people in Norfolk so friendly and they are also very dog friendly too, dogs are allowed in most cafes and restaurants and on all the beaches with only some of the beaches having small areas where they are not allowed. 

The weather today was feeling like summer - blue skies and very warm, it got to 18C after lunch but then in the evenings it does cool down again. We have supper out again tonight but its quite a late booking - I hope I manage to stay awake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.