Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A relaxing day

We thoroughly enjoyed the Leavers' Service yesterday. It had been planned by the leavers, and they chose all the hymns and readings. I had to smile as no matter what their religious beliefs, whether atheist, Anglican or Buddhist, they all sing the hymns with such gusto - hymns are such a traditional part of their school life. The opening hymn of 'I vow to thee my country' nearly got to me, but I managed not to cry. Thomas pushed for the other hymns of Guide me O Thy Great Redeemer and Sweet Sacrament Divine, his favourites. The choir were brilliant, particularly a solo from Mozart's Solemn Vespers by a counter tenor (a lad who sings falsetto). The drinks and then dinner that followed was much fun with very good food too.

Early this morning Gavin left for Cambridge to continue the building of IKEA furniture for Adam - who is studying and does not have time to do it. I stayed home, cooked Thomas a good breakfast and then printed an exam planner for him to put on his notice board. He returned to school to study in the library there, so I have had a quiet day catching up on chores around the house and admin. After a week of being out so much it was good to be home to get things done. I went back to the supermarket to get some things I forgot to buy yesterday, and I drove a short distance to take this photo of the River Mole as it meanders through the village. 

I have added an extra of the leavers from Thomas' house - they are a great bunch of lads and it has been lovely seeing them grow from gawky 13 years olds to the young men they are today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.