Tales from the Dandelion Meadow

The American lawn is a thing of the past. How much better would it be, rather than all of that wasted green space, to have a flower meadow that will provide food and shelter for the butterflies, birds, and bees.

So every year, my husband and I have vowed to turn additional parts of our yard into meadows and flower gardens. Toward that end, this year he stopped mowing a portion of the yard near the bird feeders, and we are growing a fine crop of dandelions there.

I have a bunch of packets of seeds for wildflowers that butterflies love, most of which are somewhat old, and I've decided  to scatter some in what I am calling "the new meadow" to see if any of them come up. Who knows. Can't hurt, can it?

I went out several times during this day to take pictures, and my favorites turned out to be the ones in black and white. The little orbs seemed almost like tiny white suns or moons. A fine place indeed for dandelion dreams.

The song: Roy Orbison and friends (including Bruce Springsteen!), with Dream Baby, from A Black and White Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.