A Home day

I’ve really needed a weekend at home, so waking at just after 7, I laid awake (listening to Jon snoring) and worked out what jobs I needed to do and when.

I got up at 7.30 and did tidying while I made the tea. After a cuppa in bed, we were still up and about by 9, so well rested. Cleaned and washed up while Henry got himself ready for his day at work, then drove to Morrison’s. Jon and I bought a trolley full of bits for our party next Saturday. Then went into Cromer for coffee. Had a nice chat to Manda who has been run off her feet this week with every spare minute she has after work, visiting dad in hospital with mum. I’m very grateful too her and only sorry I’m so far away. Dad is getting much better, but isn’t happy. He won’t be discharged until next week sometime. It seems as if I picked a poor time to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, as most of our close family won’t be able to come. Hopefully our closest friends who have confirmed they’re coming will still be able to make it. I’ve found it’s quite stressful organising a party. I don’t think I’ll be rushing to do it again....I’ll decide again at 40 years!

After lunch, Mollie and I drove over to the Holt Garden centre to buy some pond plants. Mainly some to aerate the water, but I also bought the water hawthorn which is in the middle of the photo. I’ll remove the blue handle when it is settled. Not sure if I bought enough of the other plants as they come in a bunch, like seaweed. I’m going to read up about it. Then buy more if I need it.

I had ago at digging out some of the ground elder from the pond area. It’s going to be a long slog, so I’ll do a bit more tomorrow. Unfortunately the Morrison’s Christmas tree I planted there 3 years ago will have to come out. Jon says it will eventually grow 35 metres tall. So I don’t have anywhere to replant it yet - we are working that one out!

At 6 Mollie and I went for our week 1 day 3 run/walk/run. It had been put off as long as we could. Anyway, we did it, so don’t need to think about it again until Monday.

We will probably watch the Eurovision Song Contest tonight. Tomorrow I need to get down the allotment....after the ironing and The Archers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.