Week 9 - Day 1 - salad

I am determined not to get stressed this week at work. I woke early as Jon was up trying to sort out the bees he is babysitting. They have swarmed twice in the last week, which means they have brought on another Queen, and then a selection of bees have gone off to find somewhere new to live with her. So even though Jon has put an extra layer on the hive, there must still have not been enough room for them all. But it has been hot and this is the time of year for swarming. It was fascinating to watch the swarm. Unfortunately it was very high up on an oak opposite, so Jon wasn’t able to catch it for his own hive. When they swarmed again, we thought they must all have gone, but there is still lots of activity around the hive, and Jon is out there now waiting for them to go to bed, so that he can block them up and take them to their owner who lives on the other side of Cromer. He tried this morning, but they were already too active at 6am.

I woke at 6, as I said, which gave me time to have a more relaxed morning before starting work at about 7. I got through lots of work even had a couple of phone calls. It still makes me jump when the phone/laptop rings, and I have to rush to put on my headphones, then try to get my mouse to move to the right place so that I can answer the call. Who would have thought answering the phone could be so complicated!?

Generally my day wasn’t too bad, although we are having WiFi issues. I had a nice salad with half home grown salad (perhaps not half, but these freshly picked radish, and lots of rocket) I even added the smallest of the radish leaves once Mollie had established with google that they can be eaten. It was lovely! Far better than shop bought. Now to sow more radish - I haven’t quite got the hang of succession sowing yet.

Finished at 4.30 - I’m aiming for as close to 4 as possible. Fell asleep on the sofa after watering everything and haven’t really felt awake since. Didn’t do any exercise, not even a walk. Will rectify that tomorrow.

TV has been rubbish. I’m heading for an early night...


are

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.