An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Aw the gear and nae idea...

The materials for my watercolour course arrived yesterday, in the midst of family entertaining (see yesterday's back blip for a very smiley Esme :-)) so I wasn't able to have a nosey till this afternoon.

Alan headed off to Braehead to ski, and D went to the driving range, so Lola and I had the house to ourselves.  Time to get the paints out.

The easy bit is creating the colour chart, the hard bit is putting the first pencil mark on that virgin piece of paper.  

So what did I (re)learn from today's little painting session?  Well....

1.  It might be 15 or so years since I last painted, but I still love it.
2.  It is still a time stealer....three hours gone in a blink!
3.  I need to get over my fear of making mistakes...there are no mistakes, just happy accidents (thank you Bob Ross :-))  Just relax and trust my creative instincts.
4.  I must stop being so disappointed by the end result.  
5.  Don't strive for perfection!  Knowing when to stop and put the paint brush down might just help with number 4!  

It's late, but just got time to spend a few minutes with my 1970s artistic heroine.  I loved watching her show!  

Hello Nancy :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.