Cosmonaut Voulkos...

...is the name of this particular tomato plant. We grew them last year and they were our favorites, so OilMan has put his heart and soul, into growing them this year from seed. 

So far so good. Despite the rain, which continues today, sometimes in a drenching downpour, they seem to be flourishing...all twelve plants.

I have an itchy rash on my face and arms which is behaving suspiciously like the 'preorbital cellulitis' I had a few years ago. I will probably have to get it checked out tomorrow since I'd just as soon not go through that again, but today I went shopping with a neighbor on the spur of the moment. 

We weren't the only ones who must have had cabin fever and decided they were going to get out and do something despite the rain. We drove through torrential downpours interspersed with blue skies and fluffy white clouds to Corte Madera.

We congratulated ourselves on our spontenaiety, our luck in finding good parking places in a very crowded parking lot, our success in finding a dress and shoes for me to wear to Claire's graduation and some cute tops for her. I can just hear my son-in-law Jim saying, 'what is a TOP?' (A perfect illustration of why we don't take husbands shopping with us.)
I hadn't been shopping for a long time and was feeling a bit rusty, so it was nice to have backup. I even forgot about my madly itching face for awhile....

We had a good time, but I wasn't really on the lookout for photo ops, so Cosmonaut Voulkov it is. I think we like the tomatoes just because of their idiosyncratic name. I like to think of them growing on a Russian space shuttle and not just in our garden....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.