Tomato Flowers

I hiked up to the veggie beds to pick the last of the peas and check out the progress of other things. It was exciting to see some of the tomato plants reaching the height of three feet and sporting blossoms! People here in California will do anything for homegrown tomatoes. SoilMan has been growing these from seed since February. 

We are fortunate to be able to live in an area where we can buy lots of good local produce, but it can never be local enough!  Growing tomatoes in the summer fog of Berkeley was an annual challenge. We managed to grow one beautiful tomato plant right next to our front steps...the only place where the sun penetrated the canopy of street trees and the shade cast by the taller houses all around us.  We tried different locations every year, but never improved on that one.

Two of our three kids graduated from the University of California at Davis, the so-called 'Aggie' campus of the UC system, famous not only for its great engineering school, its excellent science programs and superlative School of Veterinary Medicine, but for its cows with  see through 'portholes'  into their seven stomachs,  barkless beagles , and 'square' tomatoes. They aren't really square, but were developed with thick skins and flatter sides for ease of shipping. Flavor didn't seem to be a priority, but they are the only semi-local tomatoes we can get in the winter. 

Mostly we just don't buy tomatoes in the winter, which makes the appearance of the tomato flowers all the more exciting. I can't wait to switch my lunches from avocado toast to tomato sandwiches!

Work progresses on the CovidQuilt. My upper back and neck are getting very sore. I don't know if it's the Pilates weight classes or being hunched over the sewing machine, but I suspect it is a combination of both. I hope there are enough civilizations left to fall , and that I can build up my lats enough to get me through the project.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.