Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Cypress Avenue

Our final morning and most of the group had an early start to make our connections for flights back home.  The weather had turned again, with heavy cloud above.  It even started to spit with rain as I took a short walk from the farmhouse before breakfast.

I came across this small avenue of cypress trees only a few metres from the house, which I assume used to be a main track to a small chapel in the distance.  By this time the spits of rain were developing into full blown rain so I made a hasty retreat.  We waved off the first of the guests and then it was our turn to leave, driving the 40 miles back to Pisa in persistent rain.

We both enjoyed our time in different ways.  I would have preferred better weather, though as ever you tend to adapt to circumstances.  The hospitality was excellent and company from the other riders was a bonus.  I wish we'd been a bit further south, so that the views around Belvedere had been accessible, but that just means we'll have to visit the area again.

It was good to get home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.