After the show

They were taking down the last few decorations and displays from the Flower Festival which has just finished. In the glorious sunshine, the paper flowers sparkled alongside the natural beauty.

I had a delightful morning just wandering through the centre of Funchal, just drinking in the atmosphere and people watching.

I love the relaxed approach - even the police officers have this same nonchalance (although they are no less professional.) Extra.

I achieved a little ambition today, too. The 14th century chapel in the Old Town has always been locked when I’ve walked past. Today I was told that the Capella de Corpo Santo would be opened at 2.00 pm.

I went back and was so richly rewarded. The painted ceiling and the statuary are stunning. Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.