Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Black and white

Cottage overlooking our closest beach - Norwick Beach.  Our last trip of the day.

P.s I was just too tired to write anything yesterday evening, so I'm having another try this morning.  It's raining hard by the way and it looks to be set in for the day.  As we are now staying in a house with sitting room and kitchen I'm not sure that I will be going anywhere unless it stops, which seems highly unlikely.

We'd been on the ferry to Fetlar in the morning in search of Red-throated divers (which we saw at a distance on a loch).  It was much too dark and they were so far away that I decided to give the photography a miss and sketch instead.  It was a fairly bleak spot!  We followed that up in the afternoon with a trip to the emergency airstrip to look for Whimbrels (which we found) and  Arctic Skuas, which we also found, both white fronted and black.  I opted for the view through my binoculars rather than trying to photograph them, which was very good.  (I decided against my camera as the light was very poor.)

Finally we returned to Unst and the best part of the day for me was this trip to the beach, which is very close to where we are staying (maybe a couple of miles to walk), where there are the most amazing and beautifully coloured rocks.  So I'm hoping to return.

PPS - these are not seals on the beach, spot the enormous lenses!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.