The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

European Elections

The ballot box was not the usual black tin affair. Instead it resembled a medium sized plastic dustbin with a few cords tied around it for good measure. I tried not to think too hard about the significance.

I remember at the 2016 Brexit referendum, several nursery parents said they'd taken their children to the polling station 'to show them democracy'. I don't know why this surprised me, but it did. Citizenship was not on the curriculum in the Ireland of the 1960s and 1970s, when I was
growing up. Talking about Ireland joining the EU was discussed, however, in positive terms.

The day after the referendum, at least one citizen-parent came in and said, 'now I know the world's gone mad'.

So, more elections. The South West of England has a green MEP, Molly Scott-Cato. Who knows if she'll be re-elected? There seemed to be around twelve candidates on our ballot papers. Will there be a second referendum? All open to question.

My Irish passport arrived last week, so I shall remain a citizen of Europe, whatever happens.

Flashback to another election, another view of the entrance. I wonder if the old chap is still around?
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2476668

My sister TMLHereandThere thought it was funny that I'd held my 40th birthday party in this building! In fact it's a parish hall for the nearby Trinity Church, and has been used as a venue for all kinds of things, including a hospital during WWI, and currently, a playgroup, line dancing classes, and, of course, polling on election days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.