The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Have wings, will fly

(Backblip). My flight from Bristol had been changed from 3pm to 8pm, so I decided to go to the Nailsworth market with Steve and occupy a small are of his card stall, as I had not booked one of my own.

It was a friendly, sociable morning, and I didn't have to leave for the airport until 2.45. Two trains and one coach later, I'd got there! Not easy, considering it's near Stroud. During the week, there's a direct coach from Stroud, but not on Saturdays.

The rest was dull. Hours of hanging around, checking in and then being told I was on standby (why?) A big hassle at security left many travellers shoeless for fifteen minutes. Then, finally the plane.

What can I tell you about the flight except that the drinks trolley ran out of gin? The Ben Fogle lookalike travelling with his Mum turned out to a bloke from Bath called Steve.

All went well at Verona. We were on the coach in no time, and I was dropped off at my hotel by midnight. The hotel's night manager welcomed me in Italian, fetched me a huge snack of bread, salami, ham, cheese and, yes, green tea, which he served to me in the breakfast room. The room turned out to be small, clean and comfortable.
I think I've landed on my feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.