"Lucky Strike" Rose

There are four of these rosebushes in the garden. Despite the rain, the three of them are flourishing despite all the unseasonable rain.  The blossoms take on a pink blush as they get older and suddenly, all the petals are released into a pile on the ground. The fourth bush is in a pot and wasn't getting any flowers. Upon investigation, the very big pot was root bound, the roots plugging the drainage hole. First aid has been administered...we'll see if it recovers.

I have decided that the only way I knew to deal with the crazy man in the White House was to ignore him completely. He thrives on attention, any kind of attention, so at least I can deny him that. I have to have one last rant before I turn my radio to the classical station, cancel the newspaper, and watch old movies on television. 

The man who claims to be President of the United States has apparently decided to go on strike. He has refused to respond to subpoenas for documents from a House Committee investigation, and instructed his Attorney General  personal fixer and others not to testify in defiance of requests that the House has the right to make...Yesterday Trump  threw a tantrum at what was supposed to be a serious meeting with Nancy Pelosi and Chuck Schumer about a big infrastructure plan. He barged out of the 'meeting' after five minutes and told waiting reporters that unless the House stopped investigating gave up on its responsibilities to hold him accountable, he wouldn't play with them anymore. Just let the bridges fall down and the roads crumble.  What Nancy Pelosi said to bring on the hissy fit of the man who calls himself a 'very stable genius'  was,  "The fact is, in plain sight in the public domain, this president is obstructing justice and he's engaged in a cover-up--and that could be an impeachable offense'."

Although Pelosi seems to believe that a careful investigation would be less likely to backfire on the Democrats than to risk a failed impeachment effort, Democratic calls for impeachment are mounting as the presidential stonewalling increases.

It seems to me that in blowing up talks on important bipartisan legislation and then whining about it to the press,  he's making a better case for impeachment all by himself than the Democrats could. He doesn't care about governing. All he cares about is himself.

I know that the politics of other countries are usually a mystery to everybody else. Forgive me, especially you non-American Blippers for being subjected to my attempts to understand my own government. Certainly no one has ever seen anything like this one, and I, for one, hope we never have to live through another one.

Now that I've gotten that off my chest I'm going back to radio silence. Have a nice weekend everybody . For us it's Memorial Day and I hope we all take a few minutes to think about what it means to us, other than being the official start of summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.