Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Great Horned Owl

....but you would never know it from the image!  One of my friends at water aerobics told me about an owl family at a nearby park so I decided to have a look today.  I saw two babies (the other is in the extras) and one adult, also in the extras.  I really liked this shot because s/he looks so fuzzy and cuddly, almost more like a mammal than a bird.  

Can anyone give me advice on how to avoid blowing out the sky as I did in my second extra?  The owl was in a really shadowed area with the bright sky behind it.  I had to adjust the exposure so the owl could be seen and then the sky was too bright.  I run into this problem frequently when photographing birds.  I shot that one with my DSLR and my settings were f/5.6, 1/400, ISO 640.  Any advice would be appreciated!

I am grateful that it finally stopped raining and the sun came out today!  Everything is so fresh and green. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.