A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

On the Eve of Christmas

It's Christmas Eve my lovely Blippers & hope everyone is ready for the big day on the morrow.

The presents are wrapped & all set to rock & roll down the road to home & sit snug around the twinkling Christmas tree.

You'll be pleased to know that although they kept us guessing & waiting, work did set us free by 2pm once we'd finished everything for the day. This set everyone off in a crazed & joyful Christmas mood as they sprung out the traps of the front door & out into the real world to enjoy it like everyone else who didn't have to work today!

I returned back to flat, piled all my goodies into my Christmas sack & off I flew.. or so I thought. My beautiful little Clio decided this was the perfect opportunity not to start. With the light fading & the shock of possibly not being able to get home for Christmas Eve & Christmas Day becoming more real by the second, my mind went'a whirring. I thought if I could rock the car back & forth I might be able to kick start it.. & remember that we'd one the very same with Jenny's car a couple of weeks ago, & with mine a few before that.. it was definitely worth a god. And so, with increasing amounts of determination (& desperation), I made my attempts to it going..

..And it started! Thank Monkey! As soon as it wheezed into life, I jumped in, not wanting to waste a moment or miss a chance, & off I shot. A cheeky stop at the shops for some last minute drinkies created no further issues, & then I was home!

It was great to be home for Christmas Eve & then later on in the Eve, after I'd collected the family from an afternoon in the pub, I myself padded my way in the pouring rain to the pub, for a few celebratory beverages with some of my chums, a few of whom who'd ventured from London & Wolverhampton for Christmas.

A lovely, if slightly late Eve, but it was all good fun. Looking forward to the big day tomorrow & seeing the fam in their festive finery.

One more sleep!

Oh and just one more thing, today would have been my Grandma's 86th Birthday, so Happy Birthday Eva! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.