Memorial

I am writing this on the train.  That's a big deal because there aren't many train services in New Zealand.  Yesterday was our last day in the big apple.  We celebrated surviving and enjoying this big city by having a good dinner in the hotels bar/restaurant.  Dim lighting and no street noise at all.  I had a side of fresh asparagus because I can't have that at home where it is winter.  
Next morning the alarm was set and we packed our big bags and a carry on to have on the train.  The train didn't leave until 3.40 p.m so we figured we would have time to go to the World Trade Centre area on the direct number 1 subway line.  I had seen the crowds at this sight from the hop on hop off bus.  Even with all the people it wasn't hard to find a place to stand and look at the pools.  The trees surrounding it are beautiful and the walkways are broad.  I think of it as a reflective place and can't understand the need to take selfies as many were doing.  My blip is a birthday rose that has been placed on a name on their birthdate by the 9/11 Memorial  staff.  A very human touch I thought.
We collected our bags from the hotel and walked them the short block to Penn Station.  There wasn't a lift/elevator at the entrance we use and we were just deciding how to tackle the stairs when a young man came up offered to take my bag down for me.  He then raced back up to take Rebecca's who had got half way down.  I'm not too sure that would happen at home.  The train left on time and it was a pretty view of the Hudson River until it got dark.  Dinner was good with a free drink.  The roomet we have is two chairs in the day and at night Miles our attendant makes them into a bed and pulls down a bed from above for the lovely daughter.  It is compact but for one night we can cope.  It's like camping in a small tent.  I liked the rocking and rolling motion and being able to sleep stretched out flat is way better than trying to sleep on a plane.  This morning we are covering the flat plains of Ohio and Indiana.  I love seeing the two story wooden farmhouses, red barns and long straight roads.  
        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.