Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

My Happy Place!

Well, it’s ONE of my happy places! The others are in front of my new fire in the lounge, and of course travelling, living, and sleeping in Alfie the Campervan!

But TODAY this is my Happy Place! And it’s also my sick bed, as it is official - I am full of cold and coughing and spluttering! I can’t believe this is my second virus in the last 3 weeks! I really think there should be something illegal about that!!

So here I spent most of the afternoon, after going out for a couple of errands this morning - knowing if I got them done early I could spend the rest of the weekend trying to recover. I know I won’t be at work tomorrow. I’m just glad it’s such lovely weather today and that yesterday I got my swing cushions out of the loft.

The swing is a very old fashioned thing to have. But I love it. I remember when my mum got one for her garden and I thought it was such an ‘old lady’ thing to have! But when I moved in with her and then stayed in her house for 3 years after she died, I grew to absolutely love it! And so it was one of the first things I got for my garden when I moved to this house. I can spend all day chillaxing here even if it’s cool and I need a fleece and blankets (and even a hot water bottle!). I even sleep off jet lag here sometimes, though I have to be careful as my back often complains if I snooze too long in it. Dolly used to love curling up with me on the swing and so I have many happy memories with her here.

I’m happy that summer is here. Now if I could just get over this wretched cold!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.