WILLIAM COBBETT

This is where I first met meles (and possibly also Ogatodomar) about 50 years ago when it was The Jolly Farmer and was the venue for  Farnham Folk Club, and we were mere striplings. A few years later it was renamed to mark the fact that William Cobbett, Farnham's most famous son, was born there, it was then tarted up a bit and the Folk Club had to move elsewhere (correct me if I've got that wrong, M). A friend of ours lived for a while in a flat in the half-timbered bit on the right, and when Beloved C and I first got together we looked at a minute cottage in the lane on the left with a view to buying, but it was far too expensive even then and would probably be the equivalent of a whole street of Hartlepool houses these days!

Despite Farnham's apparent Surrey gentility it appears that the chap on the left has been savaged by wolves, judging by the state of his jeans. (Not understanding the desire to wear ripped clothes I always think those that
do look as though they've been attacked or shipwrecked. Showing my age, obviously.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.