Canonteign

Bank Holiday Monday 27th May 2019

The combination of a comfy bed and a complete blackout blind meant I didn't want to wake up this morning! I was still on the road at a reasonable time but without the early start I originally would have needed. A quick stop for breakfast, then I motored on down. I wanted to be close to my destination in reasonable time. 

When I turned off the motorway I knew I would be 2-3 hours early so it was time to find somewhere to explore. I was ten minutes away from my destination when I saw a sign to "The Falls". It seemed like a good possible start for some photos. What I found was a wonderful place that I could have spent all day at. "Canonteign is home to England's highest manmade waterfall. A magnificent Victorian folly set in a magical natural paradise. The waterfalls themselves descend for over 70m."  


I set off with camera and tripod and it really helped me to get "into the photography zone". It was a wonderful place. The climb up was quite steep and over 90 steps but it was well worth it. At the top there was a large fern garden. They also had various sculptures around and twelve hidden fairies. I only managed to spot seven, even though I looked hard.The view from the top was wonderful. This isn't the best picture of the day but it is one that gives an indication of the height. When I got back down I didn't have time to walk around all the lakes. 

I arrived at my destination, The Society of St Mary and St Martha, Sheldon. It is my first visit here. I am booked on a photography retreat "Seeing the Light in Life". I have been looking forward to it for a while. Just ten people on the retreat. Sheldon is a lovely and peaceful place, time to slow down and look at things differently.  I'm not sure it is quite what I was expecting though, but I will reserve judgement for now. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.