flavia13

By flavia13

BOOTLE

No not the one in Merseyside this is on the West Coast of Cumbria, just before you get to Muncaster.

Sun was shining this morning, so I grabbed my camera and just headed out.  Trying to avoid Wndermere and The Lakes and Dales being half term.

I headed up the A595 intending to stop at Askham-in-Furness, but missed the turning, so just carried on.  Made a slight diversion  to Broughton-in-Furness, managed to park the car in The Square so had a little walk around.  Quite a nice little town, there was some sort of small sheep market going I think.  Not many people about, just a few.  Saw a cafe by The Square and it was full of people, two large groups, one a family, so it was very noisy but all very friendly.   Had a nice coffee and Borrowdale Tea Bread served by a very lovely lady.  Then decided to head towards Ravenglass.

Views on the way are stunning - just not in places where you can park the car and take photos, will have to look at that again in the future.  One day I intend to take a picnic and get the train from Kents Bank right up to Carlisle via the West Coast, and take loads of photos from the train..

Anyway as I was driving along (listening to Philip Franks reading a Margery Allingham Campion novel) when I remember Bootle and there was a sign I'd always noted just saying "The Beach" - so I headed down there.  The photo is what I discovered.

Clambered over the rocks and went for a walk on the sand, all on my own - which was very brave for me - and loved it and took about 30 photos (which is amazing as I normally take much more than that).

Very breezy but lovely.  Met a lovely little dog who just came up for a cuddle, his owner apologised as he jumped up for a hug, but I didn't mind at all.  You do meet lovely people in Cumbria.

Then I felt a bit peckish so remembered a cafe in Bootle that I've always bypassed and meant to call in on so decided to see if it was open.  Went in and that too was very busy, mostly tables of 2s and 4s and one large family table.  I was asked if I'd booked a table!!!!!  Obviously very popular than.  No problem they managed to find me a table and I had a cappuccino and jacket potato.  Really lovely, but be warned if you go the portions are rather large.  Cappuccino was Costa Coffee size.  

The cafe is called The Byre and has a lovely shop attached to it.  There were 4 young ladies serving and the service and food were excellent and NO MUSIC - brilliant.  I will definitely go back, but ask for smaller portions, especially of the cappuccino.

Then just headed back home.  No incidents on the way, jut stunning scenery.   I must research places to stop where I can great photos.

I am entering the photo both for the Tiny People challenge and the Tiny Tuesday challenge, hoping it's OK to enter the same photo for more than one challenge???

Hope you've all had a lovely day.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.