ON THE TRAIL OF THE LONESOME PINE!!!!

Day 76 of personal lockdown.

Well OK it's not the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, but it is blue tinged and includes the Old Man of Coniston, again.

The weather was so lovely this morning and neither of the men folk in the house wanted to go out so, I rubbed Jungle Formula onto my legs and arms, grabbed my camera at about 9.45 and went to my favourite place during lock.  The Levens Estuary.  It's so close to home which is lovely.

There was only car in the little car park on arrival and just as I was heading off for a walk a car pulled with a young lady and her 3 young boys.  However the are the only people I saw all day.

I decided rather than go straight onto the Estuary I'd head down the little unclassified road, on foot, and ended up at Low Frith Farm.  You're not allowed any further as it is private but it gives a different perspective of the estuary.

The photo is looking towards Bouth, Grizedale and Coniston I believe.  I wish I could name all the mountains but I get confused with the distance and what I can actually see.

I saw beautiful bright blue tiny little butterfly but by the time I'd lifted the camera it was gone and I never saw it again, aah well at least I saw it.  Such a lot of bird life on the estuary today too.  Several herons or egrets (not sure if there is a difference).   I couldn't get any good close ups as they were too far away but in the extras is as good a close up as I could get, not sure what it is though, I will try to look it up.

I went past some trees with fabulous old knarled roots and an old kiln.  Never knew there was one over there before.

The only people I passed on this road were the farmers in their vehicles going to and from the 3 farms that are on that road, all very courteous.

I then went back up on to the estuary by entrance by the car park and walked right up to almost the railway bridge and back again. There was just me, I had the whole place to myself.  I'm amazed as I don't normally feel comfortable on my own but I did today.  It was so peaceful just lots of different birds singing and shouting.  Some I'd not heard before.  There was a large family of ducks I think (well of the duck family anyway) see second extra, they were making a racket but obviously having fun and no social distancing at all!!!

It was getting very hot by now, too hot for me as I don't like the heat.  I was very grateful for regular bouts of shade from trees.  It was odd to see glimpses of the caravans on the park all closed up.  Not that it's ever over crowded along the estuary anyway but still.

As it was now too hot for me I just got back to the car,  use antibacterial wipes to clean hands, steering wheel, doors etc as I had touched two gates (well with plastic gloves and my cardigan sleeves but best to be safe).

Then just came home.  A lovely way to spend a couple of hours, just me the estuary and birdlife.  I must get Hubby to go there with me later in the day one day with binoculars. I've found two other permissive routes, part of the Holker Estate that I need to try.

On the way up the little unclassified road I came across three couples just walking and enjoying the sun, not together very far apart and parked on the side of the road so it looks like I made the right choice by going where I did today.  

I loved it. 

Apologies for yet more photos of The Estuary, The Lakeland Mountains and the viaduct.  My photos lately seem to mainly consist of that and flowers with an occasional bee.  Ahh well there are worse things to photograph.

Do take care everyone pleased as there a further 412 deaths yesterday, still far too many to ease lockdown in my opinion, but at least the numbers are slowly declining.  My thoughts go to all those tragically affected, wherever you are in the world, and a huge thank you to every single person within the NHS plus all key workers everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.