Thoughts While Shelling Peas

So enjoy being on my own, peacefully working.
(Not that I'd want to be on my own all the time.)
The design of them, how can folk not believe there is a Creator? See extra, it's perfection! and all from a seed.
Sitting out here, quietly, I can watch the birds.
That blue tit is almost falling in the bowl, trying to reach the water.
I'll go find a rock to put in the middle, for the small birds...
Wow, shelling peas takes ages.
No wonder they came up with frozen peas in packets.
But such a shame folk don't have time to do this anymore.
Wonder what we lose from all this being done by machines??
Planted by Maria. Watered by Maria. Picked by Maria. Taken to market and bought from those same hands, someone I know.
Loads of them have tiny caterpillars, yuk, have to look carefully at each pea, almost.
So, why are frozen peas so perfect? Pesticides, surely.
Will the flavour be worth all this time spent on them?

I thought so. Cooked them with garlic, olive oil, a potato thinly sliced, a leek and cauliflower in tiny bits, bar the oil, all from Maria, and the oil is local. Plus two eggs, from Maria, and juice from the neighbour's oranges.

Gratefuls:
- time on my own, Mike working up the top of the Land on water system
- going up to the Chapel together this afternoon, to touch up paint, clean, arrange, for Saturday
- eating good food, produced by people I know

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.