A day in the life

By Shelling

Roadtrip

Today was last day of school for the students, and for me since I'm retiring. The parting from the students as they move on in life has always been a mixture of sadness and joy and I generally feel very drained afterwards. 

So, I took a drive in the beautiful day around the south tip of the island to open up for new thoughts. I wish you could stand with me in the breeze where the blip is taken, feel the strong scent from the flowers, the trees and the thick, sweet smell from the yellow rapeseed fields down below. Somewhere among the trees to the left is a nightingale singing loudly and the sharp colors are breathtaking. I'm close to the highest point on the island, 57,5 m, which from here actually looks rather high up.

The extra shows a very old bridge on the east side of the island, they kept a short piece of the old gravel road for us to be able to see the architecture. Behind it is the bridge for the new road, with its more modern way of constructing an arch. The wire across the arch is for keeping the cows from escaping through the tunnel.

When I got home, I felt a lot more positive about my own next steps to leaving school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.