The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Today I have been part of the problem

...that is overcrowding in Venice. Tomorrow, I shall attempt to be part of the solution by walking, or taking local buses, in my own Garda neighbourhood.

As my sister TML says, "at least you can die saying you've seen the Rialto bridge". This was never on my bucket list, as I am more of a natural wonders or social history type of tourist. However Venice was so relatively near Lake Garda that it would have been daft not to go, particularly as it was on the list of optional excursions offered by the agency.

Yes, I loved it! got some great rooftop views and
even a couple of quiet moments. But I'm not one for crowds, and I felt an impatient, pushier side of myself coming to the fore, elbowing past the sauntering Spaniards and the camera-toting Japanese. Sitting down in Venice is not permitted, except at cafes or restaurants (the bye laws are very strict) so constant motion is required. As there no cars or bikes in the centre of Venice, boats are the normal means of transport, and all deliveries are made from boats, by porters wheeling sack trucks down narrow side streets.

In recent years I've read about life in Delft and Amsterdam during Tulip mania, and London during the Restoration period. Of course, travel by river and canal was more common then. All of which led me to imagine Venice in an earlier time, stripped of tourists and suitcases; filled with the cries of hawkers and porters; the air redolent with the stench arising from the green waters of the Grand Canal. Truly that would be worth recreating in Virtual Reality, when the real Venice has sunk beneath the waves created by cruise ships and larger vessels.

Oh, and when I win the lottery, I'm definitely returning to the Department store with the rooftop terrace, to stock up on Italian delicacies and Nesti Dante Dolce Vivere soap. High quality, additive free soap is my one weakness. When UK food supplies run low, I shall probably start grating soap over my rice, in lieu of Parmesan cheese, or serving it as a carpaccio with lightly steamed vegetables.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.