Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Common Ringed Plover #64

And relax...…
This week has been bonkers at work. Despite all the uncertainty that is surrounding my job I am busier than ever since people have started to change roles and life still goes on. 
I've been working at least 12 hours every day this week, so today I decided that I deserved an afternoon off as mu husband was also off. We went to Lunt Meadows as we've not been for a while, not even when the whole world and his wife seemed to descend on the little reserve when a rare Stilt sandpiper dropped in a couple of weeks ago! 

We had a nice couple of hours and there were lots of birds around if you looked - we counted 39 different species. There were a fair few chicks around too which was good to see - avocets, little ringed plover, geese and ducklings of various varieties. But I loved just watching the mass of swifts and house martins flying around the pools and catching insects - shame they were too fast for me to photograph. I only had my long lens which is far too heavy to swing around trying to get flying birds in focus. 

My blip today is a common ringed plover, although they are not so common and are on the red list for conservation as we don't have so many breeding pairs here in the UK. The little ringed plover which is from the same family, was also in the same spot and had 3 chicks - you can see one of them in extras. We have more than double the amount of breeding pairs in the UK. 

Mother in Law is now back home recovering and being looked after by husbands brother and sister who still live in London. She is doing really well, which is so good to hear. 
My mum has not been so good this week - blurred vision in her left eye has stopped her driving so we've been helping out there - one of the reasons for the backblips this week - no time at all. But now I am up to date and will try and catch up with the past few days this evening if I can. 

Hope the weekend allows for a bit of time to relax for everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.