K9tam

By K9tam

Poppy

Poppy is one of my favorite names. I had a horse named Poppy. I was going to buy her but she failed the Vetting, so I had her on loan which turned out to be the best all round. She was  fabulous, an Irish Draft x Thoroughbred. A real schoolmistress. She was used for RDA yet would storm round a cross-country course and was a brilliant show jumper, dressage was her least favourite disciple. Our biggest claim to fame was getting third place for show jumping in the RAF inter command championships and receiving our rosette from Dame Vera Lynn.

I've been working in the garden today, serious gardening - climbing up a ladder, into a tree, onto the roof of the garden shed to prune said tree! I wonder for how many years more I'm going to be able to achieve such feats?!

Because I've been so busy I was stuck for a blip photograph so headed out to some Poppies I'd been seeing on the side of the road for a few days now. They've been looking stunning in the sunshine, unfortunately for me the sun wasn't shining this evening and they were just going past their best, but I loved the black markings on them, to me they looked like wonderfully long eyelashes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.