Rhinoceros Auklet

I am finally caught up....this is Saturday's Blip......I just posted Friday's Blip a few minutes ago.

This shot is of a group of Rhinoceros Auklets in Tillamook Bay. This photo was taken at Sunset so the light was not perfect, but this photo turned out better than I thought it would. I have only seen these birds once twice before. They are a kind of Puffin. They dive for fish and nest in burrows on shoreline cliffs or small islands.  I read that they are not uncommon in some areas of the Northern US Pacific Coast but the numbers are decreasing. There were about 15 or 20 of them and when we cruised up to them they seemed unafraid...unfortunately the water was too shallow where they were swimming so this is a telephoto shot.....cropped too.   They are rather silly looking and their actions were rather silly as they were going through some mating rituals.

It was another sunny and warm day at the beach....I hear it is quite hot in Portland today. I am not anxious to go home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.