Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Bruntsfield Links

As the weather forecast for Sunday is not good and I have to test the wheels, I do a Saturday morning ride. It is a bit breezier than expected, but feels warm all the same. Being a Saturday, there is more traffic than on a Sunday heading out through Hillend and through Penicuik. Once on the moor road, it is quiet. Quite a bit of effort is required cycling in to the wind. Great to get to West Linton.

A bit of sunshine as I cycle through to Romannobridge, and down to the A72. More of a cross wind now, and a tailwind for a bit on the A72 until I turn on to the Eddleston road through the Meldons. There ar ea few campers here. Knowing the weather forecast, I'm not sure camping close to the burn is a good idea. Once at the top,it is a nice fast descent to Eddleston and the A703.

On the Falla Toll road, there is a tailwind again until I get to the Top Gear road. I did mull cycling through Penicuik, but the wind has slowed me down a bit, so I opt for the fastest route back Home. Over Mount Lothian, then on to the descent into Auchendinny. This does mean the struggle up Auchendinny Brae, but once on the A701, I'm up to speed and back on the Seafield Moor road, making it through both sets of lights, to Hillend and home.

The ride can be seen at relive here.

In the afternoon, we leave a little late, but go down to Morningside, dropping some stuff off at charity shops for a change. We then walk down to Tollcross, visiting charity shops we don't normally visit (as they have less bric-a-brac) There is a little light rain, bit nothing that means we have to dash inside. This is shown by my blip of Bruntsfield Links.

Nice evening, rounded off by another episode of Game of Thrones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.