Dakota Sunburst

Ollie dog and I went to a flying display at The Shuttleworth Collection, Old Warden. MrQ didn't feel up to it and it was just as well that he didn't come as we had the full gamut of weather. Initially I was worried about Ollie getting too hot. A kind man used his brawn to plant my sun umbrella but a gust of wind caught it and it nearly took Ollie's eye out. She and I spent the rest of the afternoon under a big oak tree well back from the flight line where we got chilly and rained on.

I very much enjoyed photographing the wonderful selection of aircraft and have decided to post this Dakota because it is their week. A number were on static display and the crowd loved seeing them taking off to join the others which will be flying to Normandy for D-Day75 on Wednesday.

I like how the sun caught the windshield of this one. It was restored, taking 40,000 man hours, in tribute to the 101st Airborne Division - The Screaming Eagles. It was in the paint shop in mid January and was ready by March 7th.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.