MonoMonday: Check

Laurie54 has nobly taken on the hosting of MonoMonday again this month, today's chosen subject being "Check".

By luck, our burglar alarm was having it's annual check this morning by the man from Chubb*. So I took my blip shot of the inside of the case.

It's almost an antique where burglar alarms are concerned, being 34 years old (I know, as it was fitted as soon as we moved into this house). So it uses old tech (it even still has a keyswitch rather than a keypad) but it still works well so there's no point in changing it. (OK, I confess that some years back I replaced the keyswitch and one of the reed switches on an entry door when they became faulty between service checks, and the backup battery is changed every 5 years, but otherwise the system is completely original.)

I could easily do the checks myself of course, but our house insurance requires the alarm to be on a formal maintenance contract - and I guess that also means that if it went haywire while we were away on holiday our neighbours could call out the engineers.

As you may realise from the wall tiles, the box is located in the smallest room in the house...I chose not to show the plumbing though ;-))

(*Other alarm companies are available)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.