Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Kitchen witches

I saw some cobwebs today (imagine that!) on the baskets I have hanging between the kitchen and the dining room (note to self, "don't look up there!")  I got the feather duster out and got on the chair to reach the baskets and saw these little corn husk dolls.    They are kitchen witches and were given to me by my Granny when we moved in this house in 1980.  So they have been watching over the kitchen for a while.   I forgot they were up there so I moved them up higher on the basket so I would see them.      They are only about 3 inches tall so I think they work for tiny tuesday entry.

My cousin D had an appointment at the orthopedic doctor today.   Her heel is really ugly but her ankle is okay.  The heel is chipped and cracked but was cut so badly the stitches will stay in for three more weeks.   He will look at it again next week as there is a place he is concerned about.  Once the stitches come out then she will have to wear a boot for a while.  She is very frustrated.   Someone she knew loaned her a knee scooter so she can get around the house better than on the crutches.  I don't have to go over in the morning as she can work the coffee pot and also get food for herself.   Two of her granddaughters 14 and 13 are out of school tomorrow and will come to stay with her for the day and night.  I keep reminding her it could have been much worse.   I saw the photos of her car and she is lucky to be alive.

In addition to this happening to D,  two of my friends  have died this weekend from heart attacks and both were completely unexpected.  R was only 55 and we worked in adjoining offices for about 15 years...he had just retired from work not even a year ago.   Had plans to travel and possible start a small business doing something he loved.  The other person A was a distant cousin and her hubby worked with me also so I knew her a long time. She was in a nursing home recovering from complications from a bad fall last summer.  Had some health issues but not her heart.     Funerals happen Wednesday and Thursday.  I loved these people like family.  

I came across  this quotation by Temple Cone the other day and jotted it down.  Never thinking I would be reminded of it so soon.  It helped me to get past the sadness.   I know both of them would want their friends to fill our pockets with sunlight by living our life to the fullest.  

"We hold the hands of the dying as if we might follow them but they journey alone and we must prepare for the darkness by walking outside and filling our pockets with sunlight."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.